Easy Going Hummus 

I turned 31 today and it’s been such a lovely day with my mini crew. 

The morning started with an original pen and ink drawing. A gift from my dear mom-in-law in Denver, CO. She’s such a wonderfully creative, bright and lovely woman! You can kind of see her creation below in this shot of the hummus that I whipped up as a lazy afternoon snack for us all. More on that in a sec…

Later in the morning my sweet man gave me this very thoughtful memory jar that he put together himself. Complete with memorabilia from our first home together, dried rose petals from a bouquet we received after the birth of our son Simon last Feburary and a miniature love letter and… I weeped a little. Any time this man puts his feelings in to words, whether spoken or written, I swoon. So, he nailed it. I always love a handmade gift and I’ll take a soliloquy of his feelings for me any moment of every day. 

An incredibly romantic addition to my day was my dentist appointment that we ventured out for with both littles in tow. We used the visit as an opportunity to introduce my 2.5 year old, Everett, to the dentist’s office and then afterward successfully took ourselves out for lunch at my favorite spot in East Nashville, Marche Artisan Foods. 

We all crashed for naps upon arrival back home and it wasn’t until about 4 pm that I heard my tummy rumble ever so slightly. After opening an awesome pair of Merrel shoes sent from my Mom and Dad in Arkansas, our vibe here was suuuuper chill and low maintinence so I was craving something rather simple and fresh and quick to fill up on.  Something to share easily that would not require my being in the kitchen, away from the precious hang time with my family for very long.

I decided on somewhat of a traditional hummus. I used my Vitamix to achieve some silky smooth texture and served it up with crunchy carrots and sliced zucchini. Wha la. 

I’m loving my 30s so far, by the way. Loving being on the edge of so much greatness, so much love, adventure and satisfaction. It’s gonna be an amazing year.  

Easy Going Hummus 

Recipe adapted from realsimple.com

1 15-ounce can chickpeas, rinsed

1 clove garlic

1⁄4 cup olive oil, plus more for serving

2 Tablespoons fresh lemon juice

2 Tablespoons tahini (sesame seed paste; optional)

kosher salt

1-2 Tablespoons mixed seeds (such as chia, hemp and flax)

Generous pinch of dried orange or lemon zest  (optional) 

1. In a Vitamix (or food processor), puree the chickpeas and garlic with the olive oil, lemon juice, tahini (if using), and ¾ teaspoon salt until smooth and creamy. Add 1 to 2 tablespoons water as necessary to achieve the desired consistency and keep the mixture moving if using a blender.

2. Transfer to your favorite dish. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with a mixture of seeds and citrus zest before serving.

Leave a Reply

