Chia Seed Breakfast Pudding

My appetite is growing and I was starting to get bored with my normal morning routine of hot oats topped with yogurt, berries, nuts and seeds and fried eggs.  While the eggs continue to be a pregnancy MUST, I am generally looking for ways to incorporate vegan proteins in to my diet whenever possible.

Enter CHIA SEEDS!  These little black seeds are packed with fiber, protein, calcium and are low in fat. Sprinkle them on salads and soups or toss them in your morning smoothie for some long lasting energy or get funky with them like I did here and let them soak in almond milk (or whatever milk suits you) overnight. They will absorb the liquid they’re in and puff up like little balls of gelatin with the crunch of the little black seed still inside.

Chia Seed Breakfast Pudding
Chia Seed Breakfast Pudding

I layered mine in a mason jar with homemade yogurt, organic blueberries, homemade granola, and roasted almonds for a complete ON THE GO breakfast.  I’ve also enjoyed the chia pudding with my almost 2 year old son slightly warmed in the microwave then topped with blueberries and yogurt. He’s a huge fan.

IMG_6156

Chia Seed Breakfast Pudding

recipe adapted from dailyburn.com

Ingredients

2 cups unsweetened almond milk, homemade or store bought (I used Original Almond Beverage from Trader Joes)
1/2 cup chia seeds
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1-2 tablespoons raw honey

Yogurt for topping (I used yogurt I made in my crock pot a few days prior)
Seasonal fruit for topping
Almonds or other nuts for topping

Preparation

Combine almond milk, chia seeds, vanilla and raw honey in a bowl. Mix well until combined and the mixture begins to thicken. Store covered in the refrigerator overnight or for at least an hour.
Stir well before serving and add a bit of water to the pudding if it becomes too thick. Top with fresh fruit and nuts of your choice.

Note: This recipe makes enough for two large servings. It will keep refrigerated for up to 5 days.

Leave a Reply

